UNITED INSIGHT

Grow your best crop

CROP NUTRITION

Liquid and dry

CROP PROTECTION

Protecting your fields

AGRONOMY

The agronomy team strives to deliver elite products, services and knowledge for all of your agronomic needs. Our experienced staff works hard to stay on top of the ever changing technology and trends in agriculture. We attend numerous training and field days throughout the year to provide you with the newest and most accurate information available.  We work hard to make sure that you produce the best crop you can, with our knowledge, quality products, and experienced operations crew. Whenever you have questions, turn to your agronomy team at UFC.

Dave Eckhoff

Vice President of Agronomy

UNITED INSIGHT

United Insight is UFC’s branded, in house precision ag program that was created to help you maximize production across your farm. The vast improvements in technology have allowed you to capture advancements in equipment operations, data collection and management processes. The data you collect from your fields has much more potential than to produce a map. An in-depth comprehensive understanding of your data will assist you in making more informed decisions with your inputs and help decide which products are increasing the profit of your operation.

There are three areas of focus of our program:

 
  1. How can UFC help growers manage each acre of their land based on its potential
    UFC has developed a season long management program within United Insight to help you manage every acre and increase production potential. By layering the available data our precision agronomy team will be able to prescribe management recommendations for each acre to help it reach its full potential. We will review planting data, fertilizer applications, soil test levels, soil EC, yield data, and any other layers you may have available. These layers will help diagnose why an area of the field may be performing like it is. UFC’s agronomy team will recommend variable rate applications for fertilizer, lime, seed, and other crop nutrient and protection products based on the findings of your data analysis. This will help maximize your inputs and ensure that the right rate is applied on the right acre to maximize the best return.

  2. How can UFC incorporate the collected data to make an informed decision
    When planning for the next growing season, many farmers are wondering which hybrids and varieties they should plant and what fertilizers to apply and at what rate. With a program like United Insight, UFC will be able to provide you with insights on what those answers might be. The data you share will allow UFC’s precision agronomy team analyze and report on how each product, product rate, and practice performed on your farm. The data can be looked at on a field by field basis or from a farm level view. UFC will also compile the data from all the growers in the United Insight program to evaluate how things performed on a larger scale. The most important points of the data collection process is the data belongs to you and all data remains anonymous. The value to you is that you will be able to see how a product or application performed locally across potentially thousands of acres and compare that to how it performed across your farm or in your local plot.

  3. How can UFC use in-season management to detect and assess crop health issues
    The goal of in-season management is to detect a problem before it becomes too serious to fix or to keep you from encountering an unexpected surprise during harvest. By using NDVI in-season imagery, plant tissue testing, and in-season product applications we are making sure your plants are healthy from planting until harvest. UFC will also provide scouting reports with information such as stand counts, weed/insect/disease pressure and identification, and an action plan to combat those issues.

Want to learn more about United Insight?

Call your UFC Field Sales Agronomist 
OR
Call Brett Amberg at 507-236-1155


Planting Profits Podcast

CROP NUTRITION

Proper crop nutrition is essential for maximizing crop yields. The staff at UFC has experienced team members to assist you in making sure your crop has exactly what it needs to perform throughout the growing season. Our fertilizer plants, located in Winthrop and Brownton, allows us to best serve our customers and maintain competitive prices. We also offer tissue-sampling services, which allows us to make customized recommendations based on crop, stage of development, herbicide interactions and tissue sample results. It will also help you reach maximum yield potential and crop performances through understanding what crop nutrients are needed.

With the addition of the Brownton fertilizer plant, we will be able to better serve you, our patrons.  With another HIM mixer, featured in the video below, we will be able to blend fertilizer, fill trucks, and get it out onto the fields faster than ever! 

 

Some other crop nutrition services we offer include:

 
  • Liquid and dry fertilizers
  • Bulk and on-farm delivery
  • Custom application
  • Variable rate applications based on GPS gridded soil sample data
  • Tissue sampling



 

CROP PROTECTION


Growing a good crop doesn’t end after planting. Protecting your fields against weeds, diseases, and pests is vital to reaching high yield goals. UFC offers a wide variety of crop protection products to tackle even the hardest and most difficult fields. Our staff is trained and up-to-date on the latest products that will help keep your field clean and healthy.  

Our agronomist will scout fields, along with an intern, to check if there is a weed or bug problem.  They will then work with you to make sure the program will fit your needs and your budget. That order comes to us at the chemical shed, either in Winthrop or our new facility in Brownton. We'll make sure that the application is done correctly.  

We believe that UFC offers what no other cooperative around here can. We strive to give you the best service no matter what the size of your farm, from a garden to a 20,000-acre farmer. We have what you need and we have the knowledge and experience to back it up!

Our team can help you with all sorts of different services, from custom spraying to aerial spraying. Your agronomist will give you a recommendation for what needs to get sprayed, we can either use one of our machines or we can spray your crops aerially. We have partnered up with a local company to make sure your aerial crop spraying is done correctly and in a timely manner.  
 

Services we offer include:

  • Pickup and delivery of chemicals
  • Custom Spraying
  • Aerial Spraying
  • Loading bulk and packaged chemical
  • Liquid Fertilizer application

SEED

UFC is proud to be teamed up with the leading seed companies in the industry. Our employees work closely with these companies to remain on top of the latest technology and traits in the industry. UFC’s strength in numbers allows us to place the most productive hybrids across our customers’ fields to improve their yields and overall profit. We also offer seed treating services from our bulk bin soybean sites in Lafayette and Hamburg.  Seed treatments help protect your seed investment against disease and insects to provide the optimum growing conditions for your plant. 


 

FERTILIZER PLANT CONSTRUCTION

Check out our videos of the Brownton Fertilizer Plant!

 


 

 

 

UNITED INSIGHT PODCAST

Check here every other week for the Planting Profits Podcast with your hosts Ryan Ponwith and Jesse Wiant! Each Episode we talk about what is going on out in the country and valuable information that you need to make your plantings more profitable!  The newest podcast will be on the top.
 


 


AGRONOMY TEAM MEMBERS

Sales Staff

Ryan Ponwith

Agronomy Sales Manager
507-380-2859
Ryan.Ponwith@UFCmn.com

Kyle Becker

Field Sales Agronomist
320-582-0170
Kyle.Becker@UFCmn.com

Josh Edmondson

Field Sales Agronomist
507-351-6314
Josh.Edmondson@UFCmn.com

Dave Geier

Senior Field Sales Agronomist
320-510-1999
Dave.Geier@UFCmn.com

Kevin Isaacson

Senior Field Sales Agronomist
507-228-8669
Kevin.Isaacson@UFCmn.com

Tyler Johnson

Field Sales Agronomist
507-479-0781
Tyler.Johnson@UFCmn.com

Chad Mattes

Senior Field Sales Agronomist
507-276-9855
Chad.Mattes@UFCmn.com

Ryan Pawelk

Field Sales Agronomist
612-760-1239
Ryan.Pawelk@UFCmn.com

LaRay Sandquist

Senior Field Sales Agronomist
507-363-2178
LaRay.Sandquist@UFCmn.com

Allen Schmidt

Field Sales Agronomist
320-510-2861
Allen.Schmidt@UFCmn.com

Jesse Wiant

Master Field Sales Agronomist
320-221-5194
Jesse.Wiant@UFCmn.com

Bob Wilkinson

Senior Field Sales Agronomist
507-380-4410
Bob.Wilkinson@UFCmn.com

Product Sales Managers

Brett Amberg

United Insight
507-236-1155
Brett.Amberg@UFCmn.com

Stan Prahl

Chemical
507-647-6615
Stan.Prahl@UFCmn.com

Craig Wilson

Seed
507-327-9047
Craig.Wilson@UFCmn.com

Operations Managers

Aaron Schwab

Northern Territory
507-920-6505
Aaron.Schwab@UFCmn.com

Chad Wilson

Southern Territory
507-276-0442
Chad.Wilson@UFCmn.com

Location Managers

Andy Berdan

Norseland
507-246-5300
Andy.Berdan@UFCmn.com

Jim Ebbers

Hector
320-848-2296
Jim.Ebbers@UFCmn.com

Bob Nielsen

Hamburg
952-467-3111
Bob.Nielsen@UFCmn.com

Brad Pierson

Waconia
952-442-7312
Brad.Pierson@UFCmn.com

Roger Trebbensee

Brownton
320-328-5211
Roger.Trebbensee@UFCmn.com

Customer Service

Danielle Crotteau

Brownton
320-328-5211
Danielle.Crotteau@UFCmn.com
 

Karen Firle

Agronomy Accounting Lead
Karen.Firle@UFCmn.com

Desirae Guscette

Lafayette
507-228-8669
Desirae.Guscette@UFCmn.com

Becky Newman

Hector
320-848-2296
Becky.Newman@UFCmn.com